SA bat, bring back Bavuma, Morkel | Cricket Bats | Australia

Toss South Africa chose to bat v South Africa
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Faf du Plessis won the toss for the first time in this series and South Africa will bat first against Australia at Newlands.

South Africa made two changes to the side that levelled the series in Port Elizabeth. Temba Bavuma, having recovered from injury, returns to the side in place of Theunis de Bruyn, and the veteran Morne Morkel was recalled at the expense of Lungi Ngidi. Australia opted for the same XI for the third consecutive Test.

“It looks like there’s a little bit less grass than there has been the previous two Test matches,” du Plessis said. “Generally on day one it’s a little bit slow and then towards the end of the Test match it starts reversing and starts spinning a little bit.”

The four-Test series stands at 1-1 ahead of this third Test in Cape Town.

South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Faf du Plessis (capt), 6 Temba Bavuma, 7 Quinton de Kock (wk), 8 Vernon Philander, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Morne Morkel.

Australia: 1 Cameron Bancroft, 2 David Warner, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Shaun Marsh, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Tim Paine (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Josh Hazlewood, 11 Nathan Lyon.


Source link